At a Political Rally

My wife Masha and I went to a Rand Paul rally yesterday here in Rock Hill. Though she and I differ in our political inclinations, we both like his stance on various issues. We saw Evelyn Eick-Quinones there, a fellow writer from a critique group. As she likes Obama almost as much as I despise him, I was surprised to find out she likes Rand as well. That he’s polling low saddens me. I expect that’s at least in part because he’s not quick with attention-getting zingers. In general, I doubt that is a trait shared by many opthamologists. There are perhaps half-a-dozen candidates I think highly of, but so far he is at the top of the list because of his largely libertarian views.

Leave a Reply

